Episode 27.5

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYLU%2BlQA width=”320″ height=”270″]

Episode 27.5

Hey guys! Sorry for the lack of video this week, but I hope this fills the void until I get back. I have a lot to tell you!

First of all, the Plurk Podcaster Challenge ends this week! Make sure to have your Trenza Mitt and Mother Bear finished photos up by Tuesday, the 27th, and progress photos (if you don’t finish by the 27th but want to be in my drawing) posted by October 2nd! And please, please, please go look at the voting categories and think about who you’ll vote for! The voting is critical to having this whole thing work, so when voting opens on the 28th (Wednesday) GO VOTE! I don’t care who you vote for (though I’d be flattered if I get voted for at all) but for the PPC to happen again, we need you guys’ participation in the voting. Thanks!!

Also, tomorrow is the last day to sign up for Nerd Wars! If you want to be on a team, make sure to sign up by the end of the day tomorrow. You can join and play along without a team anytime, but to get any points you have to be signed up by then.

For anyone in Colorado, if you’re nearby Boulder at all, come meet up with me, Liz of NeedleBound podcast, Diane of Knitabulls, and a few others this Wednesday, the 28th! We’re meeting at Shuttles, Spindles, and Skeins in Boulder at 5pm and then going to dinner at 6 at the Southern Sun brewpub. We’d love to see you!

Finally, some photos. Here is what we woke up to this morning, on a glorious early fall day:

Hot air balloons! Four of them! This was the one I could get the clearest photo of. They were only a mile or two south of the house!

Here’s the sweater for Elliot. I’m currently about to put the back-neck stitches on a holder and do the shoulder shaping. The yarn is Knitpicks Swish DK in Squirrel Heather.

I also started the striped scarf for my friend’s Christmas present. It’s perfect on-the-go knitting- really quick, too! The yarn is Knitpicks Chroma Worsted in Lollipop and Natural.

That’s all I’ve worked on this week, but I did go to a really interesting yarn store yesterday! It’s called Gypsy Wools and it’s in central downtown Boulder, by the Pearl Street Mall. They are also opening an etsy store. Everything they sell there is hand-dyed- by themselves! It’s all their own stuff! Totally amazing. They also have a huge selection of rovings, top, and batts, from an enormous variety of sheep breeds and other animals. They even had Pygora clouds! I bought this laceweight- 1250 yards of merino.

I love all the different greys in it. Gorgeous.

The other thing I purchased was from the Boulder Bookstore, a huge old store on Pearl Street Mall with all kinds of little alcoves and hidden rooms. It’s the book The Natural Knitter by Barbara Albright. I haven’t finished it yet, so I’ll give you a full review next week.

I think that’s all I have for you guys this week- tune in next Monday, Oct 3, for a full episode back in Minnesota, complete with Trenza KAL prize drawing! Get those photos submitted!

About knitbytes

Twenty-something. Knitter. Spinner. Occasional crocheter. Huge, huge geek.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Updates. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love the update! I love how the scarf is turning out!!

  2. Elliot’s sweater is looking good. The scarf is the right color combination with the white and rainbows, how pretty. Are you going to take a camera to take pics of the podcaster meetup – I really love Dianne, she is so funny and always enthusiastic. Enjoy your holidays!

Leave a Reply

